How to turn a break-down,into a break-through ~ Client & Consultant Series (cont’d)

When you complete anything, there is a break-down or completion process. There is a lot to be said for the ending and completion of a project, with grace. It is often left to the project, how it is going to be handled. When I say that I mean, the entire time, you are on a live project it is a living and breathing entity; has its own personality, likes and dislikes. In addition, to the personality of the project, there is also the reality of the players in the project, the vendors, the client and the reason you took the project on. In the last six months, I have taken a more deliberate approach to my business. In doing so, I am very committed to supporting the client. Tip: Create your own system and structure to breaking down a project. From a Production/Development perspective this is usually the only thing between chaos and getting paid!

I am in agreement with Dr. Linne in using the New world approach to creating business, and conducting myself. It is such a challenge when you are working on a project and need to be your most creative and you’re dealing with doubt, worry and fear. Now, this is the key to the Old world state of being. I’m going to use FEAR to generate a response from you. Now as a Consultant, being requested to bring your ability to a project that without would not thrive or excel, it is confrontational and destructive to throw wrenches in my process. I confess, I’m not who I say I am. I mean, you’ve all been hearing that I’m working in Social Media PR, which is true, I am however, I should also say that it is 15 years of experiences, projects, opportunities and personalities that creates the work that I do and am requested to do. It is magic like my nephew says when he feels the wind, not to be sold, taught or bottled. My niche is the way I approach a project, and all the community connected to it. Tip: Toot your own horn!  I recently was reminded that we are here to bring our special skills to serve.   When you know your skills with-holding them, will uphold your good and your abundance.

I respects and honor  the time, degrees, expertise of my clients, and they in turn need to acknowledge and appreciate my specialty as well. Given the sensitive and often seriously acute time factor, the reality is that if my plan, the plan of action that I created, and inquired how to cultivate the project is not upheld, it’s going to have a serious impact on how I do my job. My skill is subtle, connected and works on the support and the energy of a fully functional and realized being.   Challenging to say the least, a skill that most people do not have the patience or the capacity to handle. Being a master of many areas, means that you are aware when the ball gets dropped. If you remove the ball from the game all-together no one can have the chance to play. Tip: Focus on the goal of the project, why did you take the project on to begin with?  What inspired you about this particular community?  This is what remains clear even when the client is fighting the process, doubting you, that goal is the only thing that matters.

My grandmother used to say “if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all”. Often in any industry we become jaded, despondent and set in our ways.   However,  this resolution prevents your business from thriving and shifting, as change is the only thing that is inevitable.  Embrace it, express your gratitude even when it is not ideal. We’ve got to take the high’s with the low’s, and thanking the process is always necessary, without it, you would cease to create a business!  The wonderful opportunity I have as a consultant is that I don’t have room from the break-down to stay there, I’m a small light universe, and being a sole consultant means that I don’t create on the ‘industry standard’ protocol. That’s not who I am, or what my skills represent. I re-define what ‘industry standard’ means, as there is not standard except the one I set. For example, if the standard way of being puts payment to vendor’s at 30, 60 or 90 days after the completion of the event/project, I want nothing to do with those standards. You get the job done, you deliver on your process and follow-through with me, then your time, your ability are valued. Payment is imminent. If there is any delay of your payment, take into consideration how you would feel if your income was being with-held. (My standard is 5% for any delay over 7 daysTip: Create your own standards, and stick with them. Your clients, and your bottom line will thank you for it.

My grandfather used to say something to me that would be I think an ideal way to complete this conversation…’you can’t work for free’. When there is any break-down in communication, funding, flow, there always has to be a boundary that you as a consultant sets. The line that sometimes must be drawn gets easier and more clear as your experiences grow, however, one thing is always present, that you have to set it. Tip: Being a good consultant does not always mean being ‘liked’ this is not a popularity contest. It is a challenge to know when to draw the line, but that’s life.. full of challenges and in these, with these break-down’s the aha moment that is revealed in the break-through is priceless, and without question worth all the bumps to achieve.

Happy Planning & New Guest Interview Next Week…Lots of great changes on the horizon!!

Micaela

2 thoughts on “How to turn a break-down,into a break-through ~ Client & Consultant Series (cont’d)

Leave a comment